Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Dynamic content that moves up/down

Engaged ,
Dec 17, 2020 Dec 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm just starting out with XD and even though I Googled this, I couldn't find an answer.

Let's say I have a block of text and then an image underneath. Once I add more text or delete some text, I would like the image to move automatically, maintaining the space between them. 

I'm using an image as an example, but it could be a whole group of elements.

Right now, I have to select all the elements and manually move them to adjust their position, which is a bit counter-productive and time wasting.

Is there a way to do this automatically?

Thank you! 🙂

TOPICS
How to , Missing feature , Prototyping

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Dec 18, 2020 Dec 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi DannyWyatt,

Thank you for using Adobe XD. Have you tried the padding option available under Layout section in PI? You can group the text and the image together and apply padding to the group. This way when you add/delete text, the background image will resize accordingly. 

Here's the helpx link for more details on padding: https://helpx.adobe.com/xd/user-guide.html/xd/help/set-fixed-padding-for-components-groups.ug.html

Let me know if this answers your question.

Thanks

SD

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Shwetha,

Thank you for the reply.

That can be useful sometimes, but not always, because that means that we need to group and ungroup elements on a regular basis.