• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Google Font and Adobe Font line-height Discrepancies

Explorer ,
Feb 20, 2020 Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a UI designer who works with a team of graphic designers and we have this problem:

When designing pages in XD that use Google Fonts (that my developers will use) there is an inconsistency in leading between Google Fonts directly from Google and Google Fonts that are loaded into Adobe Fonts. I tell our designers to deactivate Adobe Fonts when designing a page that needs to use free Google Fonts because it won't match up for the developers when coding. But it's been difficult to remind all the designers and production artists since they also work on print designs. So my question is, why the change in line-height/leading?

In my screenshot you can see on the left is Roboto Bold activated through Adobe, and on the right is my local copy of Google's version. The reason you can't see the last line of copy is due to the text box being too short for the Adobe version of the font.

I have come across this problem with other Google Fonts as well but can't remember off the top of my head.

Thanks in advance for looking into this!

-Diana

EDIT: Appears to be the baseline instead of leading. Please see comments.

TOPICS
Design , Product performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 21, 2020 Feb 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am checking with the team to see if this is a known issue. I will get back to you if the team needs more info.

Thanks,

Preran

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Feb 23, 2020 Feb 23, 2020