Highlighted

Prototyping tools are missing the mark (I'd rather be coding)

New Here ,
Dec 27, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a UX/UI designer who can also code (11+ years). XD is a great design tool but before it goes down the wrong path like other prototyping tools, I'd like to address something fundamental. 

Prototyping tools need to mimic how HTML, CSS, and JS used on the WWW. I should have a library of basic HTML elements to drag/drop on to my canvas with their natural functionality and states baked in (that I can easily adjust). I shouldn't have to custom create states and functionality if i'm not creating a custom element. 

I'd much rather be coding than using these prototyping tools (UXPin, Proto.io, Protopie, etc). They are all missing the mark and making me create JS logic that I shouldn't have to create for a simple HTML element. The only tools that I see come close to the needs of HiFi prototyping are Webflow and maybe Dreamweaver (although I wouldn't use it for coding). 

Don't go down the wrong path Adobe XD. Please.

TOPICS
Code, Missing feature, Other, Product issue

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Prototyping tools are missing the mark (I'd rather be coding)

New Here ,
Dec 27, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a UX/UI designer who can also code (11+ years). XD is a great design tool but before it goes down the wrong path like other prototyping tools, I'd like to address something fundamental. 

Prototyping tools need to mimic how HTML, CSS, and JS used on the WWW. I should have a library of basic HTML elements to drag/drop on to my canvas with their natural functionality and states baked in (that I can easily adjust). I shouldn't have to custom create states and functionality if i'm not creating a custom element.