• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why is XD so underdeveloped?

New Here ,
Aug 13, 2020 Aug 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using this program for the last 6 months, 8.5 hours per day M-F, to redesign our entire website.

The foundational features are fairly intuitive (basic functions of components, creating shapes/groups/layouts) but beyond that, XD has been a serious pain in the ass. The only reason we're using it is to remain within the Adobe Creative Cloud, though it's clear to us at this point going with any other competitor would have been more efficient.

The patches seem to consistently introduce more problems than they solve. Performance has been all over the place between versions, sometimes the program would constantly crash, at one point a couple months ago all Cloud documents were completely inaccessible, which ended in an extremely tense "Well, go home I guess" from my boss.

This is a professional product that people ARE CURRENTLY USING for PROFESSIONAL WORK, and Adobe consistently washes their hands of any responsibility for poor performance and being MILES behind the competition. My experience with XD to date could be described as "Beta" at BEST, and I actively recommend people away from the app. 

We need more intuitive component inheritance. Manually wiring all component states in a dot-navigation image carousel takes an absolutely ludicrous amount of time for the most basic output. We should be able to push specific changes to existing component instances without overwriting all existing overrides.

Something as simple as implementing a scroll bar is incredibly complicated and requires research and workarounds. That goes for pretty much every solution in XD beyond the most basic layouts. It's all workarounds and research and trying to goof the program into doing what you need.