• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

“Add” Blending mode darkening edges unless BG layer exists

Participant ,
Aug 04, 2022 Aug 04, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I want to add wavy glowing lines to my character who is keyed out.  I place my black and white wavy lines video over my character clip and change the blending mode to "add". It works of course, but the black areas of the wavy lines clip still exist since I have no background and it doesn't know what to "add" to over transparent areas.  So I try two methods to make the wavy lines alpha match my character:

1. Preserve underlaying alpha

2. Duplicate character layer, place it above wavy lines clip and use duplicate as an alpha matte for wavy lines.

In both cases what I end up with are darkened edges around my character as long as there is still no BG layer.  Once a BG layer is added underneath things work fine and edges look great.

I would ideally like to export an alpha transparent video of my character with the glowing lines and no BG without the weird dark edges.

Thanks for the help!

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try creating transparency in your fractal lines comp by duplicating the layer and setting the top copy as a luma matte. You may need to add curves of levels to the top layer to get the look you want. This will remove the black background. You can also use Set Matte and a matte choker to cut out the glowing lines layer.