• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

AE depletes 128GB RAM, MacPro hangs, game over...

Explorer ,
Apr 27, 2021 Apr 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Starting with the 2021 update, After Effects maxes out my 128GB RAM to the point of total MacPro process hang... I’ve been compositing in AE since 1994- I certainly know how to allocate RAM. THIS problem is something I have never seen. AE uses all memory, slowly gobbling it up even if the machine is sitting idle. No matter what memory allocation I set, this happens, the machine is useless after about 20 mins., and I need to manually turn it off. I use Cleaner One for mac, so can see in real time as the RAM depletes—again, even when AE is open in the background with no compositing happening. Any clue to why this is happening (other than "your computer is too old") would be greatly appreciated. 

MacPro late 2013;10.14.6; 2.7 GHz 12-core Intel Xenon E5; 128GB 1066 MHz DDR3

//dc

TOPICS
Error or problem , Freeze or hang

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This happens to me and I have a 2019 MacPro so it's not the age of your machine.  I have 256Mb of RAM.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Do you have any work-arounds? I can use Cleaner One to refresh the memory, but if I don't catch it in time the system will hang. I have tried everything in the book with the exception of wiping the drive and starting over. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines