Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

After Effects & Replacing Project Files into Personal Files

New Here ,
Jun 10, 2022 Jun 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello adobe community. 

I'm trying my best to keep my cool on this one. I am an experienced editor and I do VFX and video editing daily.

The problem is, I started to copy and paste my after effects projects onto my desktop and then start editing from my desktop instead of opening projects directly from my hard drive (it's safer this way to avoid any corruption on my hard drive). But when I am finished my with my project file, I will then copy and past the project back into my peronsal files onto my hardive. When I go to drag and drop my AE Project onto my hard drive a pop will ask me to "replace" the prioject file, and so I click replace so that it will update my project to the last one I was working on with the same name from my desktop.

Easy peezy right? NOT. Come to find out, its nottttt replacing my last project file. It just does not replace it. And I just check an older project I did, and the same thing happened and I lost my latest project for that project, thinking that I replaced it.

Something goes wrong when I'm replacing AE projects with newer ones I've worked on from my desktop copy. It does not replace the file and I do not know why. Thank GOD that I didn't delete my trash folder....because the last project this happened to was a project on my updated Logo. Which is one of the most important AE projects I have.

All I need is for the projects to actually be replaced....and it's not working. I'm not sure if this is an Apple issue and an Adobe issue. But please fix this, I almost had a hard attack. 

TOPICS
Error or problem

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jun 10, 2022 Jun 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard