Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

After Effects importing 'slo-mo' video as 44.172 FPS by default

Explorer ,
Apr 13, 2018 Apr 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys,

I am fairly new to AE, so forgive me for asking what may seem like a basic question.

I shot some footage on my iPhone 8 using different FPS a while back.

Regular videos were shot in 60 fps, while the slo-mo ones were shot in 240 fps.

Now, when I tried to import them directly into the project, there would be a ton of issues while doing a RAM Preview.

After having a word with Adobe, they told me AE and Premiere Pro can't 'handle' iPhone footage directly and I need to put it through Handbrake first.

The settings I used in Handbrake were:

FPS: Same as source

Constant Framerate ticked instead of Variable Framerate

Screen Shot 2018-04-13 at 11.19.12 PM.png

I did that and while the RAM preview issue has been sorted, I have noticed that there are some other issues.

The first big one is that each time I click on Spacebar to RAM Preview, the preview stops around the 15 second mark rather than complete the video. It doesn't stutter there, it just loops back to the start. I have to move the playhead/time indicator ahead manually each time I want the video to playback more.

And this particular issue is with all sorts of video, regardless of FPS.

Screen Shot 2018-04-13 at 11.24.53 PM.png

And while the regular videos (60 fps) show come up in the project panel as they should, the slo-mo videos come up as 44.391 fps by default.

When I see the info on those files on Finder, they show 240 fps only.

Screen Shot 2018-04-13 at 11.11.41 PM.png

So I'm wondering if you guys could help me out on this.

Just to add some information, when I RAM preview the slo-mo videos, they seem to play back as they should but the composition settings show 44.391, unless I specifically change them to 240 fps, of course.