• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

After Effects won't import PSD

Community Beginner ,
Oct 15, 2022 Oct 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, this is my first time posting here more or less so please bear with me.  I'm a new adobe user and although I've heard about these famous instability issues, this is pretty embarassing. 

Computer specs: m1 max macbook pro on monterey 12.3 

AE: 22.6

PSD: 23.5.1

I've just got a multilayered PSD that im trying to add parallax to in AE.  It crashes After effects.

I've use the timelord plugin from battleaxe in effort to circumvent the issue but it only works by importing PNGs, if I use it to import the PSD, AE crashes or just spins the pinwheel forever.

I've unistalled AE and PS, downscaled the image, removed layer styles, tried all the forum remedies I've read here and am pretty resigned about it-but I figure I'll post just in case.

Was literally just following along to this tutorial but have also had this problem with other PSD files:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tVyu-rjHbg

Hope you can help me,

Jonah

TOPICS
Crash , Error or problem , Freeze or hang , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Rasterize the clipping paths and layer masks as well as the smart object for the background. The whole workflow is kind of odd both from an PS and AE standpoint and that tutorial is kind of questionable.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied