• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

AMD Radeon and After Effects

Community Beginner ,
Sep 20, 2020 Sep 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there, I'm a motion designer who fairly recently built a computer with an AMD 3600 CPU and an Radeon RX 570 which has been great for everything including playing AAA games at high settings, very impressed.

The issue I'm having is when I open After Effects it crashes every time, turning the screen black and then sometimes comes up with a C4D error message saying something like "make sure you have the latest GPU driver installed" I have uninstalled and re-installed the Radeon driver software many times to try and solve the issue but the problem keeps occurring. I originally tried the latest recommended version (the 'stable' option) and now I have tried the latest version out. I have also checked that Windows is up to date.

Can anyone tell me what else I can try or what I might be doing wrong? It seems weird that everything else seems to work perfectly other than After Effects

TOPICS
Crash , Error or problem , Freeze or hang , Preview

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Sep 20, 2020 Sep 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Downlaod the AMD debug tools and see which functions cause the crash. The long and short answer to the issue most likely is that you need to dumb down the driver settings. These days OpenGL, OpenCL and other stuff to a large part run as driver-based emulations and those super-fancy cards may have odd memory offsets due to being packed with video RAM, meaning certain function calls may simply end up in black holes and cause apps to crash.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines