Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Expression Get Project Path or Name

New Here ,
Jul 25, 2013 Jul 25, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am new to After Effects as in I have just seen it for the first time today!

What I'd like to know is, is it possible to write an expression to return either the current project name or file path?

I'm assuming no as I cannot find any reference to this in the language reference. How would I go about integrating a script with the project to return the project name?

I have tried something basic like:

Expression code:

var currpath = $.evalFile(filepath);

filepath is the path to my script file, the script is like the below:

GetPath()

function GetPath() {

return app.project.name;

}

With this I get an error similar to method name 'Global' not found - not at my work computer so can't remember the exact message.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

TOPICS
Expressions

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Doesn't look like it's directly accessible. The top level properties and methods came back as:

PROPERTIES:

name

numEntries

numProperties

propertyIndex

active

enabled

>Global

this_comp

this_layer

this_property

thisComp

time

color_depth

colorDepth

<

>Vector Math

>Random Numbers

>Interpolation

>Color Conversion

>Other Math

>--------

>Layer

>Sub-objects

source

>General

width

height

index

parent

has_parent

in_point

out_point

start_time

has_video

has_audio

hasParent

inPoint

outPoint

startTime

hasVideo

hasAudio

audio_active

audioActive

>Properties

anchor_point

anchorPoint

position

scale

rotation

opacity

audio_levels

time_remap

audioLevels

timeRemap

marker

>3D

orientation

rotationX

rotationY

rotationZ

castsShadows

casts_shadows