• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ExtendScript: Apply template not working?

Community Beginner ,
Jan 26, 2021 Jan 26, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am quite new to AE scripting though I have made a lot of ExtendScripts for Photoshop and Indesign. Now, I am trying to set up a workflow where I add a comp to the render queue and render it. As far as I understand, the only way to specify a Codec is by specifying a template. However, I only get an error that it's "not a valid template name". Just as a way to duoble check and eliminate any typos, I used the list of template names as an input but still get that very same error. Do anyone know if there is a way around this?

My example:

// add to render queue:
project.renderQueue.items.add(comp);
// getting an actual template name:
var template = project.renderQueue.item(1).outputModule(1).templates[10];
// trying to set the template
project.renderQueue.items.add(comp).applyTemplate(template);

TOPICS
Error or problem , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Jan 26, 2021 Jan 26, 2021

That last line looks wrong, trying to set the template at the same time you're adding the comp to the RQ. You seem to be confusing the two different uses of ApplyTemplate, one used directly on the RQItem object to set the render settings and one used on any OutputModule object to set the OM template.

Haven't tested this but try replacing the last line with:

alert(template); // just to make sure what you grabbed appears to be right
var theRender = project.renderQueue.items.add(comp);
theRender.out

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied