Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help with Line animating methods ??

New Here ,
Feb 04, 2023 Feb 04, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,
not sure if this is the place to ask - I'm stuck and would love some advice. I'm still fairly new to animation, and what i have done so far has been frame-by-frame animation using a digital tablet and Photoshop, and a tiiny bit of Aftereffects.

I've been asked to animate a map of a hike, so i'll be animating moving lines. Ideally, I'd like each new "section" of the path to appear on screen as if the map is being painted by hand, in real-time.
Initially, I was planning to avoid using paths/motion graphics in Ae, as i felt it would look too "digital" and regular. Then I thought i'd be able to use photoshop actions, since you can set it to record tools such as brushstrokes; but that reeeally doesn't seem like it'll work lol

So far, all i can think of is either a) "giving up" and using Ae paths, with a brush texture, and carefully imitate the "irregular" speed of a line being hand drawn or b) do it frame-by-frame in photoshop, making it as smooth as possible with high frame-rate, copy-pasting the previous line for each new frame.

Both solutions seem super time-consuming, and i feel like surely there must be a way to "screen-record" digital brushstrokes as they are being drawn, in a high enough quality that it can be integrated in my final project (movie will be in 4k).

Really hope this makes some sort of sense !! I'd love any ideas/suggestions you might have.
Cheeeeers
TOPICS
How to , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Feb 04, 2023 Feb 04, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied