• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do you make a loop that subtracts 1 to a variable each frame?

New Here ,
Jun 19, 2022 Jun 19, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!  I am pretty new to AE expressions so I apologize for my behavior if it is inconvenient. 

I currently have this,

if (k != y) {
      k = k - time
}

I wish to make it so k decreases by 1 every frame once it is not y; however, the time variable not does account for when k is not y and does not decrease it by 1 each frame.

Any tips?  Should I be utilizing things such as "while"?  I have noticed Javascript does not have any sleep/wait/delay functions and was wondering if AE had any of those.

TOPICS
Expressions

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Made a mistake

(however, the time variable doesn't* account for when k is not y and does not decrease it by 1 each frame.)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As Mylenium points out, expressions don't have persistent data. But you shouldn't need that in your case. You can use timeToFrames(time) to get how many frames have elapsed, and you can subtract that from whatever starting value you want to give you a value that decreases by one each frame.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jun 20, 2022 Jun 20, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!  Thank you for the response!