Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to best learn AE

Community Beginner ,
Mar 15, 2021 Mar 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Heys Guys,
I'm normally a 3D Artist, and have worked with 3D Programs for about 7 years. I'm currently trying to get my first job, but lots of places need people that can do both 3D and 2D VFX/Comp. Even though 2D effects and comp interests me, I haven't really worked a lot with AE.
So what I'm looking for is a course/tutorial series etc. that teaches you the important things a VFX artist has to do (greenscreen keying, comp, tracking etc.)
I would say, that I have a good basic knowledge of how stuff works. I have watched tons of Videos about this topic, just because they interest me. So I'm not looking for a total beginner course. Maybe a course for someone, that does not know the software, but something similar like nuke.

Also, what would you say are the most important skills a VFX artist should have. Basically what effects/skills should I learn first to increase my chances foor a job?

TOPICS
Resources

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 15, 2021 Mar 15, 2021

The best way to for anyone to start is to spend a few minutes with the Learn Workspace and get a handle on the UI. The next thing you should do is take a quick look at the User Guide. It sounds like you are past that stage.

Be very warry about tutorials you find on YouTube. Most of the new ones that float around there are prepared by enthusiasts and a lot of them show pretty inefficient workflows. 

The Linkedin Learning series is pretty good. There are some great books on visual effects and

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied