• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to manage these Auto-Traced masks to get intended effect

Explorer ,
Apr 01, 2022 Apr 01, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm stumped creating a lottie animation that is meant to be about two seconds of a spiral (for a load screen). The spiral is made up of two pinwheels (one white and one slightly thicker black pinwheel) that are rotated to create this effect. The yellow background would be transparent and in this case it would be the actual website landing page.  The idea is that the white pinwheel first rotates behind the black and then disappears. Right after that the black pinwheel rotates and disappears in the same exact way.

My thought was that I need to create a mask out of the pinwheel and to position it where the black pinwheel will rotate to. I wasn't sure how to do that, but I did manage to Auto-Trace the pinwheel and now have 24 subsequent masks for each leg of the pinwheel. I am far from a AE pro, but I usually manage. Although this time I'm so confused.

The problem is that these masks are on another layer (the Auto-Trace layer) and even if I add keypoints for  this above layer to have it become opaque and to show up right when the black pinwheel starts moving, it's not actually masking the pinwheel on the lower layer.

Things I've tried that haven't worked:

• I copy/pasted the entire mask section of that Auto-Tace layer and pasted it on the Black pinwheel layer and it just completely masks out the entire pinwheel even if the masks are set to transparent for the entire first second

• I've tried to copy one mask and paste it to the subsequent shape in the pinwheel layer (also masks out the entire pinwheel)

• I've tried to mask just one part of the pinwheel using the pen tool and even though the layer is selected, it doesn't mask, but instead draws a new shape

I've added a poor quality gif of the current animation, as well as a photo of my project layers. Thanks in advance!