Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lagging PC and RAM issues

Community Beginner ,
Feb 24, 2023 Feb 24, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

HI all,

I am fairly new to AE but i have done my research on what could cause this issue but so far nothing has worked. I have a very pwoer ful PC
7950x

128GB DDR 5 4666

RTX 4090

2x 1tB Nvme

When i use AE, i have allocated 100gb of ram 
i have a Nvme just for cache 

and somehow, i run out of ram and my pc freezes and then i have to reboot. how is this possible?

Can someone guide me why my PC cant handle my work, i am doing VERY simple video editing. Its nothing special, no special effects or anything that would use more resources. All i am doing is editing videos of people talking.

The project has around 50 clips and its pushing the 10 hour mark. I have split it up into 40 compositions. Is this an issue?
I just assumed my PC would be able to handle the work

TOPICS
Crash , Freeze or hang , Performance , Resources

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 24, 2023 Feb 24, 2023

You trim your shots or edit them in Premiere Pro. The shots that need visual effects are then moved to After Effects. If the effects are complex and the render times are long, you render the effects shots and replace the original shots in your edit in the Premiere sequence. 

This is how Sony Pictures, Universal Studios, George Lucas, Industrial Light and Magic, Pixar, Disney, and every other production house in the world makes movies with visual effects in them. The software may be different,

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi VizCourse,

Thanks for writing in.