Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Laptop up to After Effects?

Explorer ,
Aug 24, 2022 Aug 24, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Apologies for what is probably a very dull request but I was hoping to get some general advice about computers' applicability for AE. I'm planning on giving a year over to developing content for an educational website using AE and whilst I'm relatively new to AE and essentially on a steep learning curve, I have realistic expectations of what my output can be expected to look like. In other words, my content will not be very elaborate, 2D but I do rely on quite a few plugins to do small jobs for me.

I have a laptop that I thought would suffice for the task but am running into some issues. It is a:

DELL XPS 15 7590

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9750H CPU @ 2.60GHz 2.59 GHz

Installed RAM: 32.0GB

OS, APPs and Project files are on the single SSD hard drive in the computer and the cache is on a Sabrent Rocket XTRM-Q 1TB USB 3.2 / Thunderbolt 3 External SSD using a thunderbolt connection.

Is this a sensible set-up or would keeping project files be on a separate SSD improve performance? All footage I’m using is created within an Adobe app or there are imported images occasionally but I am not dealing with video files.

The GPU is an Intel UHD graphics 630 which I now realize is not ideal for AE and indeed I have received messages from AE telling me that GPU is out of memory. Unfortunately it’s not possible to upgrade this.

In short, I’m struggling with the speed for previews, rendering is slow and it’s starting to prove a frustrating process as you can imagine.