• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making a script that dynamically checks if property value have changed

Community Beginner ,
Oct 20, 2023 Oct 20, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I was trying to automate the location of the layers in a Pre-comp, so each layer in the composition will be moved to begin when a property of the layer (like rotation) reaches a certain value.  

From some research, I learned that there isn't a feature to let me listen for events every time a property changes. I wonder if anyone has done something like this and has a solution that I can use as a starting point.

I'm new to the AE scripting, and so far my script can only move the layer at the wrong time, only when the code is executed.

var comp = app.project.activeItem;
var preComp = comp.layer("Pre-comp name");
var currentTime = comp.time;

if (preComp != null && preComp.source != null) {
    var layers = preComp.source.layers;
    var arrayLength = layers.length;
    for (var i = 1; i <= arrayLength; i++) {
        var workingLayer = layers[i];
        if (workingLayer.transform.rotationY <= 90) {
            workingLayer.startTime = currentTime;
        }
    }
}

The layer's rotation is adjusted by a parent object that is controlled by a Null. So when the parent reaches the angle needed, the child that inherits the rotation should be moved to the current time starting point.

TOPICS
Expressions , How to , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Oct 20, 2023 Oct 20, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As you already mentioned, there is no way to trigger such a script automatically (i.e. to run it automatically, when the rotation of the working layer changes).