Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Path pasted from Illustrator no stroke

New Here ,
Aug 01, 2021 Aug 01, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys,

So I'm totally new to AE so please bare with me. I have made a wavey vector path in Illustrator that I want to import to AE to animate it. I've made a shape layer then selected the pen tool and pasted onto the layer. The problem is that the stroke isn't showing anymore? So I tried to "add a stroke" but still nothing happens. Would anyone be kind and guide me to how the heck I get it to show? Thanks so much for your time!

Best, GSkærmbillede 2021-08-01 kl. 20.30.51.pngSkærmbillede 2021-08-01 kl. 20.31.04.pngSkærmbillede 2021-08-01 kl. 20.42.01.png 

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The simpleset way is: Create a new solid with the composition size, paste the path while selecting that solid: a mask will be added to that solid, apply a "stroke" effect.

What was happening with you: when you paste from Illustrator, a mask was created on that shape layer instead of a shape.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Also, if you need a shape layer to get the benefits of it's options:

Create a shape using the pen tool, select it's "Path" property, and paste.

paste.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST