• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Preview not caching to disk

New Here ,
Oct 25, 2017 Oct 25, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a video that I'm working on that's about 5 minutes long, 304 MB disk size.  Nothing special, no effects.  When I preview the video by pressing spacebar or zero, the preview consumes all available memory, about 50 gigs then when the play head reaches the end of the green line, instead of writing to cache the preview jumps back to the beginning and starts over.  Only after I stop the preview does disk caching start (watching Resource Monitor).

Is this normal behavior?  I'm still new to After Effects but this does not seem to be right.  Am I missing a setting in AE or could this be a system issue?

Any help is appreciated.

150 GB disk cache enabled in Preferences.

System:

i7 5820K

GTX 970 latest drivers

Windows 7 Ultimate 64

64 Gig DDR4 3000  50 GB allocated for After Effects

C: Raid 0 250 GB SSD for System/Applications

D: Raid 0 1 TB SSD for Projects/footage

G: NVMe 250 GB for disk cache

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Oct 26, 2017 Oct 26, 2017
But my main question is that after reaching the end of the memory cache, should the preview not continue and cache to disk?

it work different. when it runs out of room to cache to RAM, and you preview some more, the RAM is the caching the new frames over the older ones, and the older ones are stored into disk cache. in Ae you usually cache in parts and view your scene in parts. you can lower your resolution and disable some things to get a longer preview but if you really need to watch the whole

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Purge memory & caches & try it again.

Votes

Translate

Translate