• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Roto Brush 2.0 takes very long to freeze (several hours for 23 second clip)

Community Beginner ,
May 26, 2021 May 26, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to After Effects so I'm just as new to the Roto Brush but my friend who uses Roto and the tutorials I've seen don't take nearly as long to freeze. It starts off quickly but then slows down usually at the 5% to 10% mark then it's very slow. I think the longest it's taken to freeze the roto was approximately 6 hours for a 23-second clip! I let it go the whole time because I wanted to see how long it would really take. I'm not doing anything very complicated either. I've noticed that it takes longer to propagate than what most have described and what I've seen in tutorials. Here are the specs I'm working with:

MacBook Pro (13-inch, M1, 2020)
8 GB Ram
Mac OS: Big Sur 11.2.3
After Effects CC: 18.2.0 (Build 37)
67% used of 8 GB
aep File size: 46 MB
Duration: 23 seconds

1.png2.png

Any help would be so grateful.
Thanks!

TOPICS
Error or problem , Freeze or hang , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , May 27, 2021 May 27, 2021

Honest answer: Your footage looks less than ideal for Rotobrush. Not enough contrast, many large, uniform areas that due to the underexposed nature of the shot will look even more uniform. Rotobrush thrives on detecting moving details and when there are none, it simply struggles. Chances are that in your case it probably runs infinite loops to figure out what's simply noise (from the low-light shot) vs. actual details. You probably could have spent that time you waited just as well with some maj

Votes

Translate