Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Scanning on a number line

Community Beginner ,
Jun 29, 2022 Jun 29, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am struggling to search for an answer to my question as Google etc. thinks I'm looking for explanations of AE tools / functions!

What I want to create is a number line which I can zoom in and out on and scan along with a rapid blurred effect. The closest I can find is the year scan effect used a lot in the show "Person of Interest". I have tried to find an example to link to, but...

Anyway, I have two primary questions:-

1.  Is there an easy way to add the labels to the line? Obviosuly, I can draw it all and manually add the numbers, but if I can have it automatically add the numbers with a kind of "step and repeat", it would help! I want it to look something like a stand-alone x-axis on a graph. I thought of creating it in Illustrator, but I'm not experienced with that and can't find info on this either! I can see how to create a "Repeater" to duplicate something like a shape, but how do I also increment the contents of the text box?
  2. How do I animate the rapid scan? I want the numbers / line to accelerate to the side until it turns into a blur and then decelerates back to settle at a new point, (See POI reference above.)
    Advice appreciated!
TOPICS
Expressions , How to , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied