• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Tweaking a Dan Ebberts expression: How to resolve a shape's random motion to its initial position?

New Here ,
Feb 28, 2022 Feb 28, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there -

I'm new to AE and am working on learning expressions by looking at existing expressions and tweaking them to understand how they operate.

I've been playing with one of Dan Ebberts's expressions to randomize motion of a shape in a comp and am wondering if there is a way to make the shape's "end position" at the conclusion of the timeline resolve to the shape's initial position (to create a seamless loop).

Any suggestions or tips on resources that might address this would be very welcome. Thank you!

Here is the expression of Dan's I've been working with:

moveMin = .3; //minimum move time

moveMax = .5; //maximum move time

pauseMin = .2; // minimum pause time

pauseMax = .5; // maximum pause time

minVal = [0*thisComp.width, 0*thisComp.height];

maxVal = [1*thisComp.width, 1*thisComp.height];

seedRandom(index,true); // set pre-run for endT

endT = - random(moveMax);

j = 0;

k = 0;

while ( time >= endT){

j += 1;

seedRandom(j,true);

startT = endT;

if (j%2){

endT += random(moveMin,moveMax);

k++;

}else{

endT += random(pauseMin,pauseMax);

}

}

if (j%2){

seedRandom(k,true);

endVal = random(minVal,maxVal);

seedRandom(k-1,true);

startVal = random(minVal,maxVal);

ease(time,startT,endT,startVal,endVal)

}else{

seedRandom(k,true);

random(minVal,maxVal)

}

TOPICS
Expressions , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied