• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using Illustrator to create assets for After Effects

New Here ,
Aug 05, 2020 Aug 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I am new to Illustrator, but I wanted to use it to make assets to use in order to learn After Effects. 

I made a drawing in sections in order to import them to AE. I grouped the items that needed to be grouped and let free the items that I would want to animate. I saved the file as a transparent background. When I imported it into AE, the back ground was transparent, but the items were fixed and could not be moved or adjusted independently. How do I separate the items in either AI or AE so that I can animate the independent parts?

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 05, 2020 Aug 05, 2020

Guidelines for creating Illustrator artwork for video production:

1. If you do not use one of the templates for Video that contain two overlapping artboards all artwork must reside completely inside the main artboard

2. Only one artboard is supported when importing AI files as a compositions

3, Artboards should conform to standard video frame sizes and artboards should always be an even number of pixels high and wide

4. Snap to Pixel should always be turned on in the View menu and Pixel Previews

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

AE doesn't care for groups, only layrs. You hjave to educate yourself about these basic concepts. Doing so would in fact be crucial to understand the AI side of things as well, as layers, sub-layers, groups and sub-groups have specific meanings and handling properties there as well. Read the AI online help on the matter.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines