• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Video preview (mercury transit) not working in AE!

Contributor ,
Mar 01, 2018 Mar 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm running a new iMac Pro 10c with a USB-C hub with HDMI out.

The HDMI -> DVI cable goes in my 24inch JVC DT-V24L1D broadcast monitor.

Video Preview out is NOT working in AE, while it works perfectly in Premiere Pro !

And I troubleshooted almost everthing I know.

Reconnected the HDMI, because I've read AE sometimes maps video wrong?

Tried other USB-C ports.

Switching live between Premiere Pro and AE, hoping AE picks up the videolink.

Turned on/off mercury and choosing OpenGL/METAL and Software mode.

Nothing seems to work!

I'm very angry and frustrated because I'm a pro motiondesigner and I bought the 5k JVC screen + 2k blackmagic in 2011.

And AE NEVER ever outputted the preview on external monitor in realtime. Previews were always at 15fps!

Now after so many years and the introduction of USB-C -> HMDI I wanted to give it another shot... grrr still buggy as hell.

I hope someone can help me out, so I can finally start using that JVC screen.

My AE setup.

ae.png

My Premiere Pro layout. This works perfectly.

It outputs 1080p to my JVC LCD when scrolling the timeline of the clips.

pp.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Mar 06, 2018 Mar 06, 2018

Hi,

Try dragging the After Effects window away from the edge of your preview screen. I had the same problem and the reason was that my AE window was too close to the edge so that the screen showed me the Ae interface instead of the video preview.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Contributor ,
Mar 05, 2018 Mar 05, 2018