• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

AE runs too slowly, do I need a better computer?

New Here ,
Nov 11, 2020 Nov 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello my Adobe Bros! (A-Bro-bees?),

I'm new to After Effects. I've been working on a 2D animation project using Adobe Illustrator and Character Animator. I've been following tutorials from Okay Samurai, who mostly posts about Character Animator. I'm following his tutorial (titled "Complete Cartoon Workflow") and I'm at the step where I bring everything I've created and captured in Character Animator and put it all together in After Effects. But it is nearly impossible to work in After Effects. Everything I do takes forever to render and I always get the colored spinning wheel and my computer fan goes crazy. I also have already lowered the resolution to "quarter" and have it set to skip every 2 frames, but it still struggles.

Here are the specs of my current Macbook:

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012) Running Catalina OS

Processor: 2.5 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5

Memory: 16GB 1333 MHz DDR3

Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB

Even though I don't know what a lot of the above specs mean, I thought 16 GB of RAM would be enough to run the program. I know AE can do 3D stuff complex special effects so I assumed that my simple 2D stuff wouldn't be an issue. My computer struggled a little to process some MoCap stuff in Character Animator and the fan went crazy but the program still ran quickly with no delays.