Highlighted

After Effects aerender issues

Explorer ,
Oct 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I am one of the developers of the  render manager Royal Render. And we tried to contact Adobe via some other channels, but did not got through to the AFX team.

There are issues in After Effects since years and no matter what our customers tried, these bugs have never been addresses by Adobe.

That's why I wanted to contact Adobe for all our customers to address some issues that they can finally use AFX to its full potential.

I do not remember how many years the issues are in AFX, but some of them at least since you released the first CC version!

I am not a end customer that will ask for UI improvements, I am a pipeline developer that needs to make sure afx renders. Our application just uses the commandline application aerender.

This is the list of some issues:

1) Windows: You cannot run aerender from within a service.

Seems to be this issue After Effects 2018 in render only mode: possible bug

But that thread is from January and nothing happened!

But this is very important for larger companies as e.g. some VFX feature projects are confidential and should not be accessed by any user logged in.

Which means running aerender from within a service is not something rare.

We just get all these bug reports and have to tell the customer that Adobe knows the bug.

And customers often do not report it to Adobe as they have no faith in your bug solving team, they are more likely to ask us for possible workaround.

2) You cannot start multiple aerender at the same time.

(More and more important with these new 64 core machines everyone gets)

3) General error messages that are printed although the issue is something else.

Can you add more error checks for different parts of AFX?

That the error message does at least give a hint which part is responsible?

We encountered for example these error messages multiple times in different companies on different projects: