• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

After Effects Chroma Keying: Retaining Thin Details/Lost Details and Cleaning Shadows

Community Beginner ,
Oct 01, 2020 Oct 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I filmed a spinning model with green screen, put a mask on it in After Effects, and used Keylight to key out the green screen. Because I'm still new to this process, though, there are a few issues I haven't figured out yet.

• In some areas, the steps of the ladders on the model get cut off by the matte, disappearing for sections of the video. I've tried using Key Cleaner and Advanced Spill Suppressor, but they don't appear to be helping or I don't know the settings that would help. Is there a way for me to prevent the steps from sporadically disappearing while skill removing the green screen?
  • A human figure's shirt on the bottom of the model is transparent for a part of the video, and adjusting Clip Black and Clip White hasn't fixed it. What's a good way to fix it?
  • At the bottom of the model, I'm having issues removing some of the darkest edges. Any tips on how to clean it up, whether with Keylight and/or an additional effect?

If there's a better  forum to ask these type of questions, let me know. Thank you!

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Oct 01, 2020 Oct 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What is the format and bit depth of the original footage? I get a pretty good key right off the top just using Keylight. My first pass looks like this:

Screenshot_2020-10-01 11.12.15_eylJec.png