Highlighted

Aftereffects losing layers?

New Here ,
Jul 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

• I'm new to aftereffects. If I render my composition. How do I go back to my composition on the layers panel to see the individual layers again? As of right now when I open the file it pulls up as one full layer all combined into one composition. 
TOPICS
FAQ

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Aftereffects losing layers?

New Here ,
Jul 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

• I'm new to aftereffects. If I render my composition. How do I go back to my composition on the layers panel to see the individual layers again? As of right now when I open the file it pulls up as one full layer all combined into one composition. 
TOPICS
FAQ

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Jul 23, 2020 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jul 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

User Guide, that should be your first stop. 

After Effects pojects are saved as an AEP file. You use After Effects to crete visual effects and motion graphics shots that cannot be created in a video editing app like Premiere Pro. After Effects is not intended for editing videos, it is designed to create snots by layering various elements in a  compositi0n. When you render a composition you get a video. Video is not interactive and not layered. A video may have more than 3 color channels if it is the right format, but there are no layers to see.