Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Animate old photos

New Here ,
Aug 03, 2020 Aug 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, 

I'm an advanced video editor, and I want -for a project that I work- to animate old photos. Is After Effects the suitable software to create animations like these (video below), or should I turn into other alternatives?

https://youtu.be/3uaoPYazKhY?t=50

* I'm a beginner in photo editing. 

TOPICS
FAQ

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , Aug 03, 2020 Aug 03, 2020

The example you linked contains tons of full 3D animation which would be near impossible to do only in AE. Of course there's other stuff, too, like cut-out people and so on. If you look up "cinemagraph" tutorials you may get an idea of what works and what not, but if you realyl want that level of complexity and liveliness, then this extends far beyond the AE realm. There's just so much going on. On the other hand of course adding faux perspective/ parallax to static architectural photos is not t

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 03, 2020 Aug 03, 2020

The 2.5D or Kid Stays in the Picture technique you are looking for involves separating foreground, background, and middle ground elements into different layers, doing the best you can to fill in the holes, then carefully arranging the layers in AE's 3D space and performing a subtle camera move. The more planes there are in the image the more difficult it is to do a believable camera move. 

I'm not trying to discourage you, but I am trying to give you a realistic expectation of how long this ki

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied