• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Applying bulge effect to sync with audio amplitude effect?

Community Beginner ,
May 06, 2020 May 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all! I'm still fairly new to expressions, so hopefully question is clear enough. I have a circular logo whose scale changes based on the amplitude of audio tied to it. (The point is to make it look like a speaker bouncing with a lot of bass.) For context, the expression to make this happen includes this line:

temp = thisComp.layer("Audio Amplitude").effect("Both Channels")("Slider");
[temp+70, temp+70]

It works great. But to 100% pull off the illusion, it also needs a very slight bulge effect to distort the center of the "speaker". I can do that to the layer as a whole with Effects > Distort > Bulge, but it would need to sync with the amplitude expression. (The closest example I can find in another forum is here, but I'm not good enough with expressions yet to get it to work without an error.) Could someone offer a tip or more thorough example? Thanks in advance!

TOPICS
Audio , Expressions

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Beginner , May 06, 2020 May 06, 2020

Actually, I figured it out! I needed to apply a Bulge effect to my layer and then use an expression on that, rather than try to place a Bulge expression in my layer's Scale attribute. So my working code in the Bulge effect's expression is simply:

thisComp.layer("Audio Amplitude").effect("Both Channels")("Slider")/35

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , May 06, 2020 May 06, 2020