Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Arabic text flow

Explorer ,
Mar 29, 2018 Mar 29, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello All,

I am new in After Effects and thus need help. I am writing a javascript which reads the text from the Json file and replaces the content under the text frame in the AE Project file. This works fine if the Text is in English. But If I try to replace the Arabic text then the text looses the formation and breaks the words. I tried changing the keyboard language to Arabic. But it still doesn't work.

The value under the javascript variable looks correct.

Can anyone please help.

Thanks all in advance.

Farzana.

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Mar 29, 2018 Mar 29, 2018

Doesn't have to be a new project, just a new text layer created when text engine is set correctly. Maybe you could have one text layer for Arabic, one for not, and maybe they'll then work as expected regardless of the current text engine pref setting, but I haven't tried that yet.

Paul

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Have you tried changing Preferences > Type > Text Engine to South Asian and Middle Eastern? The last few versions of AE have included native support for right to left languages like Arabic and this is by far the easiest approach to use.

Paul

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Paul,