• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't get video composition transparency working with AVI format. Help please.

New Here ,
Jul 20, 2020 Jul 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

jenniferw4750215_0-1595250233352.png

Can someone please assist.  I've been using after effects on and off for a few years but have never experimented much in the exporting/rendering options.  I can get the transparent background working with Quicktime format, but I need this in AVI format.  I have tried Lossless with Alpha in the output module but it still has the comp colour in the background.  You can see that toggling the transparency grid on the comp shows the transparent background.  

jenniferw4750215_1-1595250421544.png

Thanks in advance, 

Jen

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You seem to have several misunderstandings here.

a) Transparency is not an automatic thing. In fact very few CoDecs even support it, in particular in AVI-Land. You need to check the "Format Options" and verify that it's set to RLE or Uncompressed. Since many AVI-CoDecs also limit color range drastically or are heavily compressed, you may want to switch to other formats. Ultimately the lack of suitable CoDecs is why Quicktime was so popular for a while. these days your options include e.G. ProRes or image sequences, naturally.