Can't move videos/keyframes in After Effects. Help?

New Here ,
Mar 28, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, all,

I've recently purchased After Effects CC 2019 for my Mac and I'm completely new to the program, and I'm having a few issues with it. I've been watching some tutorials and I see that everyone's able to drag clips/keyframes easily along the timeline, but whenever I try that on my project, it's like they're frozen. I can move them using brackets—[]—but that's all, and it's getting really annoying to do. Even trying to use the little arrows beside the clips to shrink them/make them longer and all of that doesn't work. I'm not sure what's going on.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Engaged ,
Mar 28, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. Click somewhere along the clip and drag from there (four little lines appear showing you can drag it). When you place your cursor over the very beginning or end of the clip a double sided arrow appears showing you can shorten (or lengthen) the footage.

AE is not an intuitive program so I would strongly suggest that you look at some basics tutorials before trying to dive in or you'll end up driving yourself crazy.

These are great:

After Effects basics tutorials by Andrew Devis

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
LEGEND ,
Mar 28, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I heartily agree with Towerguy -- learn the basics!

Ever use a video editing application?   Learning how is like learning to drive the family car.  Learning After Effects?  That's like learning how to fly an F-22 Raptor for combat missions.

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Explorer ,
Feb 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied