Exit

Footage slows down

Explorer ,
Jan 10, 2020 Jan 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear experts,

Please help an absolute noob.

The footage that I base my work on in After Effects should be about 10 min long. I recorded only 2 min, just for a trial. It's MPEG-4, 614.5 MB.

It slows down at different times, which shows that it is not a problem with the footage but with how AE reading it (I suppose), which makes it difficult to add an animation to it. 

But my main concern is what would happen with 10 min footage if there is such a problem with 2 min one.
I mean, will I even able to do anything with it?

Could someone, please help me with this?
What should I do to fix the problem?
How big should be a footage file, in terms of MB?

With the greatest appreciation to those who can help,
Lena

TOPICS
Audio , Error or problem , How to , Import and export , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
People's Champ ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you saying you've imported a 600mb mp4 or that's what you're rendering out?  Please exaplain exactly what you are doing if you're working with the .mp4 inside AE tell us what you are doing to it and tell us your system specs.   Also I'll maybe be the first to tell you AE is not video editing software, it's for short shots.  If you are editing a 10 minute video you should be using proper video editing software like premier or... 

~Gutterfish

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you very much for replying.