Highlighted

Gradient Controller Problem: Shapes "growing" in a skewed way?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone!

I'm relatively new to After Effects still and came across a problem that I think has a simple solution but I'm a bit stumped. I was following this tutorial linked here starting @~11:00 minutes in, https://youtu.be/1UaZNcVobhg?t=664 , and when I turned on the gradient ramp fx for my circles, they size up in a distorted/skewed way (not growing from the center anchor point as they should be) as seen below:

circles "grow" skewed to a side despite the centers originally being centered. The gradient's start and end of the ramps are directly centered at the top and at the bottom of the composition respectively.circles "grow" skewed to a side despite the centers originally being centered. The gradient's start and end of the ramps are directly centered at the top and at the bottom of the composition respectively.

Before the gradient ramp is turned on, The anchor points are all centered for every circle visible here: 

circles centered.PNGcentered anchors.PNG

Any advice anyone's willing to share? I'd greatly appreciate it!

For reference I'm using the Ae 2020 version.

In this After Effects motion graphic tutorial we are going to be taking a look at how to do get a radial scaling effect in after effects using a Gradient Con...

Hi Rick_Gerard,

I appreciate the help! After digging deep enough into the properties of the circle shape layer, I finally realized it was the anchor point under the ellipse's transform property that somehow got unaligned (quite obvious, I should've looked there first now that I think about it). I manually moved the anchor points and zeroed them all out in each layer to fix the problem. When I turned on the gradient ramp again, it worked like a charm. No more skewed circles as they scale up. 

FIXEDCIRCLES.PNG

Topics

Error or problem, Expressions, How to

Views

Translate

Translate