Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help with Track Mattes (I think)

New Here ,
Jul 17, 2021 Jul 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello there,

So I'm basically trying to find the best way to place a layer on top of a map and find a way to have that layer tranform to look identical to the map underneath.  

In other words, if I were to zoom in Sicily, for example, and place a rectangle shaple layer there, how could I get it to look like Sicily, without having to manually move every piece to fit.  That's very tedious and I believe there's a way around it.  I'm rather new to AE, but track mattes sort of do what I'm talking about, but I can't get it to look just right.

If you've ever seen a historical video on Youtube where they move the borders around, that's basically my goal for the project I'm working on, just can't quite figure out how to do that.

Thanks,
Michael

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you upload a screen shot?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Screen Shot 2021-07-17 at 4.44.02 PM.png

Thanks for responding.  As you can see, on Sicily, I was trying to apply a shape layer, and manually fit it so that you can't see the border or water, unsuccessfully.  Then on Sardinia, I'm messing around with Mattes, to see if I can get that to work, also unsuccessfully.  

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Screen Shot 2021-07-17 at 4.53.35 PM.png

Set Matte sort of works.  I tried doing that, plus color key, but still can't get it.  

Votes