• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

High-Tier PC, horrible performance?

New Here ,
May 27, 2018 May 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm a Motion Graphics artist / Editor who recently upgraded their PC after suffering with slow rendering speeds. Yet my new PC seems even slower, despite having much better hardware:

CPU: Intel Core i9 7900X

Cooler: Corsair H100i 240mm

Motherboard: ASUS Strix X299-E

GPU: ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 64GB DDR4

I edit my footage on a 1TB SSD, backup to a 6TB HDD, and my OS is on a separate 240GB SSD. If it's of any importance, I use a combination of the Acer X34 Ultrawide monitor and an ASUS PB287Q 4K monitor.

Here are the issues that I've experienced:

• Any action takes seconds (with the After Effects interface being exceptionally slow)
  • When rendering anything (on After Effects or Premiere Pro), the computer becomes entirely unusable.
  • Previewing anything (with or without any effects) takes minutes instead of being instant (including standard 1080p footage AND fully rendered sequences).
  • Rendering 15 minutes of simple After Effects animation (1080p, 60fps, 3-5 layers with no lighting or 3D) exceeds one hour.
  • Extremely slow project loading and file importing
  • Regular crashes across the board

I'm not sure what's caused this to happen, since it's performed this poorly since the beginning. I aim to work with 4K content in the near future, and a proxy workflow simply isn't an option with my career. Additionally, I'd rather not use different software since I move between Premiere, After Effects, and Photoshop regularly.

Any and all help would be more than appreciated, thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , May 27, 2018 May 27, 2018