Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to create MOGRT file with matte or mask

Community Beginner ,
Apr 27, 2020 Apr 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey Guys,
I am a programmer who recently started learning Premiere Pro and After Effects to create some tutorials. I wanted to reuse the transitions that I create in After Effects and I have learned that can be done by creating transition in After Effects and then exporting it as a MOGRT file.

I am trying to create a transition where an arrow slides from the right side. I want the left side of the arrow to reveal Video clip 1 and the right side of the arrow to reveal Video clip 2. In Premiere Pro, we can do this using a shape as a mask but that is tedious and not reusable. I was wondering if there is any way in After Effects to specify which color or layer should be used as a mask when you export the MOGRT file?

I am not sure if I am in the right direction but essentially I want to reuse an animation like the one below.

Transition.png

I would really appreciate if someone can point me in the right direction. Maybe a tutorial on Youtube or some concept that I don't know. I am a beginner in After Effects and most of the tutorials I have seen, cover the full screen by the shape at some point and then show the second clip not both at the same time.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 28, 2020 Apr 28, 2020