• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to link and move only one object and the rest will loosely follow in after effects?

Community Beginner ,
May 07, 2020 May 07, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone, this is my first time here, and new to Adobe After Effects. Now, I have this problem where I need to drag only one object (which is the red circle in the image below) and the rest of the colored circles will follow on delay. I search on the web and there's no way I can find any specific explanation to mine, so I decided to create a post here so that somebody could notice and help me.

Yellow and, orange circle linked with the parent red circle.Yellow and, orange circle linked with the parent red circle.I did this on Adobe illustrator, but I cannot find any tools for this in Adobe After Effects. What I want is to only move one object and then the rest will adjust on their own, proportionally. Is this possible?

Every single-colored circle in that image will be replaced with Illustrator file to be animated later on. Please, if someone could provide, expressions, instructions, or step-by-step guide with pictures, I would greatly appreciate.

Thank you so much for your efforts, I will try to answer your questions if there's any, as soon as I can, so I can clarify my concern. I hope you understood my point, sorry for my bad English.

TOPICS
Expressions , FAQ , How to , Resources , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 07, 2020 May 07, 2020

What you want is to calculate the position of the other circles as weighted average of the red and the yellow circle. Let's call those pos1 and pos2.