Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to mask a text with using a text layer

Explorer ,
Sep 21, 2020 Sep 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, 

I'm quite new to After Effects but have grasped the basics so far.

I have 2 text layers. One of which is a dotted line which animates downwards using the text animator and the other layer is a simple text which shows just above the dotted line when the dotted line finishes animating.

My question is how can I connect the dotted line to the text so that the text appears above the dotted line when animating? I'm essentially trying to use the dotted line to mask the text so it appears as if the dotted line is revealing that text. 

I've attached the animation. Only about 3 seconds long. 

Can anyone help me with this please?

Thanks

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 21, 2020 Sep 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If I understand you correctly you want to have the animated dotted line reveal the text layer. I'm assuming you created the dotted line with a shape layer and animated the path. If that is the case then I would duplicated the shape layer, put one copy above the text layer, the other below, select the top shape layer, press the 'u' key twice to reveal all modified properties, turn off the stroke, add any solid color fill, and fix the animation so that you have a filled rectangle. 

You can then use the filled rectangle as an Inverted Alpha track matte for the text layer. The comp would look something like this:

Screenshot_2020-09-21 22.27.34_XlBl9k.png

You can see the path in the screenshot. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more