Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

how to not use keyboard shortcuts in After Effects

Engaged ,
May 25, 2020 May 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, 

I'm just learning After Effects and the tutorials I'm following from the Adobe website are full of keyboard shortcuts.  I use several complex programs and can't memorize keyboard shortcuts for each of them, so I get around mainly with the mouse.  Is there any way to move around the After Effects timeline using clicks instead of  keyboard shortcuts?  For example, Premiere has controls you can click to go to the next in or out point.  Is there anything like that in After Effects? Thanks.

Zaffer

TOPICS
User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , May 25, 2020 May 25, 2020

The SHIFT key will be your best friend for quickly navigating the Timeline - you must at least remember one shortcut key.
The SHIFT key snaps the Current Time Indicator (CTI aka playhead) to pertinent points in the Timeline. Pertinent points are defined as Keyframes, Layer In/Out Points, Layer Markers and Comp markers.

To invoke this Timeline Snap feature -

1) drag the CTI and then quickly hold down the SHIFT key

2) click within the Timeline's Ruler Area and hold down the SHIFT key and drag, to

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can see the list of AE shortcut. It is also customizable.

https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/using/keyboard-shortcuts-reference.html

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied