• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to trim audio less than a frame in After Effects?

Explorer ,
Apr 17, 2019 Apr 17, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This seems like a fairly obvious and simple question, but I can't find the answer anywhere. I'm relatively new to AE--I come from the audio world in which it is possible to trim an audio clip right down to the teensiest waveform--in literally any DAW that exists. So why wouldn't it be possible to do that right within AE? We recorded the audio for our current project in ProTools, separately from the video, and now it's about half a frame off from the video. Ultimately, it will be hard to notice, but even so, it's eating me up--there's gotta be a way (other than going into Premiere---we don't have any cuts, just one shot with green screen and animation, so it doesn't make sense to link to Pr).

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , Apr 17, 2019 Apr 17, 2019

Trimming may seem easy but there is some engineering required to things work sub-frame. It's a good idea to think of Adobe's DVA tools as a set of tools that work together. In, AE, you can select the Audio Layer and choose Edit in Audition, via the Edit Menu.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Mentor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

... and in every video editing software the smallest unit is a frame, therefore you do such things in an audio tool.

*Martin

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Votes

Translate

Translate