• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How would I go about automating this graphic?

Community Beginner ,
Sep 02, 2020 Sep 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So as seen here I have a few games being displayed in a chronological order. The titles move to match their positions on the timeline, and old timeline objects are pushed down and out of frame. Dotted lines mean one thing, solid lines mean another. When games appear they are always stacked on top.

My issue is that this video is a test - it is entirely non-functional (and also extremely inaccurate) and that is because I have no intention of making manual keyframe animations for this.

I am very new to After Effects and I understand the concept of expressions, but I don't necessarily understand how I would go about turning data I have in a color-coded spread sheet into a json or csv which would be used to automate the process of placing objects and lining them up accordingly - and moving them up and down as needed.

One major complication is that in the data - things have a tendency to "rise from the dead". Meaning that these games can come back to live on the board for at least a while. For example, in July 2000 - Team fortress 2 leaves the board, but sometime later in 2004 it will come back. How do I account for this in such a way that when it returns it's put on top, and moves with the other data in the same way?

georgeh70994914_0-1599097399655.png

Pictured is the data represented in the video. When a specific day is given that means that it was a specific day that month, otherwise it just means the beginning/end of that month

TOPICS
Expressions , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines