Highlighted

Importing screen recording from quicktime into after effects

New Here ,
Aug 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have created a screen recording using Quicktime which comes out as 3070x1918 in size. I am not sure how to bring this into a 1920x1080 composition without losing quality. Whenever I scale the video down to the composition size and export the final composition as a quicktime or MP4 using a H:264 codec, it loses quality and colour dramatically (edges of straight boxes and text become crunchy).

Can anyone help/advise? (I am fairly new to After Effects but well versed with Adobe software overall).

My resolution is set to full, and I have made sure the export settings are lossless (Quicktime as the export using the Animation codec for the standard render queue, and H:264 with match bitrate as the AME export).

Topics

Error or problem, How to, Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Importing screen recording from quicktime into after effects

New Here ,
Aug 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have created a screen recording using Quicktime which comes out as 3070x1918 in size. I am not sure how to bring this into a 1920x1080 composition without losing quality. Whenever I scale the video down to the composition size and export the final composition as a quicktime or MP4 using a H:264 codec, it loses quality and colour dramatically (edges of straight boxes and text become crunchy).

Can anyone help/advise? (I am fairly new to After Effects but well versed with Adobe software overall).

My resolution is set to full, and I have made sure the export settings are lossless (Quicktime as the export using the Animation codec for the standard render queue, and H:264 with match bitrate as the AME export).

Topics

Error or problem, How to, Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate