• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Matching tracked text size, orientation, and location to similar to text on a different layer

New Here ,
Aug 27, 2020 Aug 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello there, I am very new to After Effects (started last week) and for my first project, I've been using the 3D camera tracker to track text onto the stage of a dance performace. To make it easier for the tracker to track the video, I split the video into multiple layers for the zooms and fixed views. The video tracks fine, but when I create the text and camera, I have multiple layers of text. I have to then, by hand, match up the last frame of the first layer, to the first frame of the next layer so the different layers of text are in the same position for the whole video.

I have also tried creating one text layer and after the tracker is finished, I will just create the camera under the effects of the current layer but that will cause the text on the other layers to jump around a lot.

Is there an easy way to do this? Am I using the tracker wrong? This really slows down my workflow so I am hoping to find a way to speed it up. Thanks.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Camera tracking a dance performance can be quite difficult, especially if you are overlapping shots or editing shots in a single comp. Here's some basic advice.

• Make each cut in the footage a separate comp
  • If you need to overlap shots add handles (extra frames) to the head and tail of each shot