• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

My tracking keyframes move when I connect them to a NULL layer

Participant ,
Jul 14, 2020 Jul 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys... this has been driving me NUTS! - I'm a noob in AE but I've followed a bunch of tutorials to track an object. It took me hours as I had to manually keyframe a lot... but I finally had a path laid out... created a new NULL, I set the keyframes to work in the NULL layer and then used the pickwhip to connect the NULL to the object I wanted to move... but a whole bunch of the keyframes had inexplicably moved. Here's a video I did of my process:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dokdkyl4kdyv8dy/lost%20with%20keyframing.mp4?dl=0

You'll notice I'm clumsy - and I've found this weird way to even get back to viewing my tracking keyframes which can't be right either - so do please help - I'm at my wit's end!

TOPICS
Error or problem , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I see a lot of confusion in your workflow. Have you gone through any of the tracking tutorials that Adobe has presented in the User Guide?  Most of the tutorials that I see on YouTube and the great majority of tutorials that people on this and other forums have problems with are prepared by well-meaning enthusiasts with very little experience and most of the workflows are either terribly explained or inefficient. 

Here's how to do Motion Tracking using one feature region like you have done in your project. This is the efficient workflow for attaching motion tracking data to a null and then attaching a layer or effect to the null. All of these steps are important and they should be done in order.