Highlighted

New help with a simple script

Explorer ,
Oct 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I wish AE had an easy way to create scripts for non-coders like recording Actions in PS and facilitate automation for repeated tasks..
I'm trying to write a script that would create a Null layer, load an Effect preset on it (a bunch of sliders)  and put in expressions in various parameters (X,Y, Z, position and X, Y, Z rotation) of the selected layer when the script was run (not the Null layer)?
I've figured out how to the Null layer, name it and apply my preset but I can't figure out how to do the rest. Any help would be appreciate as I'm not a coder.
Thanks!
My script so far.

app.beginUndoGroup("My Script");
    var myComp = app.project.activeItem;

var myNull = myComp.layers.addNull(myComp.duration);

myNull.name = "Sliders";

var thePreset = new File("/Users/me/Documents/Adobe/After Effects 2020/User Presets/Sliders.ffx");

if (thePreset.exists == true) {
	myNull.applyPreset(thePreset);
} else {
	alert("no preset found at specified path");

}    

app.endUndoGroup();

TOPICS
Expressions, How to, Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

New help with a simple script

Explorer ,
Oct 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I wish AE had an easy way to create scripts for non-coders like recording Actions in PS and facilitate automation for repeated tasks..
I'm trying to write a script that would create a Null layer, load an Effect preset on it (a bunch of sliders)  and put in expressions in various parameters (X,Y, Z, position and X, Y, Z rotation) of the selected layer when the script was run (not the Null layer)?
I've figured out how to the Null layer, name it and apply my preset but I can't figure out how to do the rest. Any help would be appreciate as I'm not a coder.
Thanks!
My script so far.