Highlighted

Newbie Here - General Question(s)

New Here ,
Apr 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all! Just wanted to get a little insight on After Effects, as I have played around with other Adobe products over the last few years. My strength is Photoshop, which I learned mostly out of boredom but it's now become a hobby, and I'm fairly acquainted with Premiere Pro. However, I'm interested in learning After Effects to add to my "hobby" skills. 

That being said, I know it's taken me about 3-4 years of maybe 5-10 hours a week practice to get decent results in Photoshop, and I've dabbling around in Premiere Pro for about a year and a half, so I understand I'm not going to come close to being any cinematic great overnight. I will note that I downloaded the trial version of AE just to see what it's about, and am seriously considering adding it to my subscription.

My question(s) may sound stupid to those of you who are masters, but they stem from a project I'd like to undertake: a honeymoon video compilation as a gift for my wife to celebrate our second anniversary (occuring in September 2020). That gives me just about 4-5 months, which I know is not a lot of time to put together 30-40 minutes of video clips both in Premiere Pro and After Effects, but I'd like to put at least something together (and maybe refine the project for our third anniversary).

1) What is the relationship between PP and AE? Meaning, if I edit videos in PP, can I then plug them into the AE project and then export from AE? I've created a few projects stringing clips together in PP but want to know if I'm wasting my time as I'd need to use the storyline in AE. Or do I create animations, etc. in AE and then apply back to the PP video? I'm assuming just be the title of AE, that it occurs after all PP edits are made. My apologies if I'm not being clear, but I want to understand how the two programs work together.